How did you grow up so fast…

To my son
Tomorrow you will be starting a new journey in your life, your Senior year of high school.  It’s a very exciting day and, yet a bit of a sad day for me.  I know it sounds crazy but my emotions are as high as the day you started kindergarten as I can’t believe you have grown up so fast. I’m so proud of the man that you are and are still becoming.
You have been the most precious and wonderful gift I ever received.  As your mom, I will always love you unconditionally.  You make me catch my breath sometimes because of the amazing son that you are. (And yes, even in the not so amazing moments, too) I am so proud of the choices you have made, the advice that you have asked for, and the ability to talk about your feelings.  These traits, I hope, will be very valuable for you beyond high school. 
I’m thankful that you have encountered all kinds of experiences and people in high school.  Some of those people will remain lifelong friends and some just acquaintances that you will reminisce with at future class reunions.  I have one wish for you, enjoy them all.  Don’t judge the book by the cover.  Don’t let the pressures of your peers make your decisions on who a person is or isn’t.  Get to know them and make that decision for yourself.  People just may surprise you.
Don’t be afraid.  Explore the opportunities that will enable your light to continue to shine.  Continue to try to make good choices.  If you however make a poor choice, I will still love you just as much. I will always be here.  I will always listen and help you when you want my help. There will be moments that will define you.  Define your character. Define the man you will continue to grow into. Choose wisely. 
At the end of the day, you will always be my baby.  No matter how grown up you get, how you have started shaving, or how you have surpassed me in height and shoe size.
I will always watch you sleeping and see your beautiful, innocent face.
I will always get a tear in my eye when you struggle with a problem.
And I will always, no matter what, be here for you.
I am so ridiculously proud of you and love watching you continue on your journey.
Go take on the world, my baby, and have an amazing Senior year! 

Leave a Reply

