instead of mind over matter, listen to your heart

Today’s #ThinkKit’s prompt: What was the wisest decision you made this year? Who did it impact? Describe your decision-making process, discuss the results, or just share a little learned wisdom.

When I read the questions, “what was my wisest decision this year”, it really made me think.  Picking one that stands out was seemingly difficult.  There had been choices to make with work.  Decisions that I needed to be confident with regarding raising a 14 year old boy.  Resolutions that I knew I had to sure of with my personal life.  I know I have made a multitude of decisions that have affected me and others Some decisions were good ones and then again there were some that were just awful.  Did one really stand out?  Hmmm, I don’t think so.  But after some serious reflection on the car ride home from work,  the one thing I kept coming back around to was the action that seemed to determine most of my many decisions this year.  I had started to listen to my heart again.

heartIs it that little voice inside your head that pushes you to decide?  You can weigh all the pros and cons of any situation that commands a decision.  Some require more brain power than others.  Some are strictly intellectual.  However, what makes us act and make that decision?  Could it possibly be the emotion behind that voice inside our head that prompts us to act?  Now this isn’t always a great and trusted advisor to lean on for advice especially in an emotional charged atmosphere but it deserves a little say in the process. 

It seems that so many actions and decisions are made by people that are based on others’ opinions.   What will people think of me?  First of all, that’s for them to decide, right?  Secondly, can you imagine the incredible turmoil that will rest on your heart to make decisions that impact you, your friends, and your family that don’t come from the heart?   I can.  I have.  And it sucks.

So instead of living a life that is filled with the innate horrible trait I have of pleasing others, I went back to the “me on the inside” and listened to my heart again.  It seems like such an easy thing to do but I’m sure we can all think of a time when we have seen the “heart” ignored. 

Just for a moment, try to listen to your little voice.  Stop and hold your heart.  And then ask yourself, “What is it telling me?”

One thought on “instead of mind over matter, listen to your heart

Leave a Reply

